LibGuides: Islamic Studies Research Guide: Bibliographical Resources

Bibliographical Resources

Arabic Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information and citations to scholarly articles from expertly curated Arabic journals, from Web of Science. ARCI is powered by Web of Science. and funded by the Egyptian Knowledge Bank (EKB). Search in Arabic or English.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Provides an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide visual perspectives on Islam.
Kotobarabia Arab Leaders, Historians and Philosophers Collection This link opens in a new window
A compendium of early works of an astounding variety of disciplines from important Arab writers, spanning fields from feminism and social theory, to classics of literature, history, and the sciences.

Historians of the Ottoman Empire
In 1998, Hakan Karateke, who was a lecturer at the Free University of Berlin, started a project to create a comprehensive reference work for Ottoman Literature, which would include all Ottoman works. However, due to limited resources, the project was not feasible. Therefore, Dr. Karateke decided to narrow down the scope of the project to cover only the Ottoman Historians, with the expectation to finish the project in four years. Dr. Karateke then sought financial support for the project from various German institutions, but unfortunately, none of them had a suitable grant program that could accommodate the project.
Onomasticon Arabicum
“Onomasticon Arabicum (OA) is a long-living database project [sponsored by the IRHT and CNRS]. This new online-version informs on more than 27000 scholars and celebrities from the first Muslim millenary. Its entries in Arabic are compiled from ancient biographical dictionaries, a veritable treasure of Islamic culture. Crossed search allows separate interrogation on any of the different elements of the Arabo-Muslim names, dates and places, reconstructing a person's identity, trace ways of knowledge transmission and frame historical contexts.”

Christian-Muslim Relations. A Bibliographical History This link opens in a new window
"General online history of relations between the faiths from the seventh century to the present...Covers the period from 600 to 1500... & are recorded in Syriac, Arabic, Greek, Latin, [etc.] & other languages...[Includes] introductory essays on the treatment of Christians in the Qur'an, Qur'an commentaries, biographies of the Prophet, Hadith and Sunni law, & of Muslims in canon law..." See opening page for further details of coverage.

Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics Database This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 1,500 online citations (English and Arabic) to resources on Islamic bioethics, including organ transplantation, genetics, reproductive technologies, and death and dying.
A project of two Georgetown Libraries -- the Bioethics Research Library (Washington) and the School of Foreign Service-Qatar Library (Doha).