Search for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
This image archive provides over 100,000 images of fine and decorative art; scope is all periods, movements, styles, and themes in the history of art. Artworks from public and private collections are represented.
Limited to 8 concurrent users.
A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the 1990s. Formerly known as Grove Dictionary of Art.
The 45,000 articles of the print version of the Grove Dictionary of Art are accessible with added searching capability, additional context and authority of links to museums and other collections that may offer more information about the piece, the artist, and related works. Searches can be done by article heading, full text, contributor, caption, or combinations of these using concept, pattern, boolean and expert options. In addition, researchers may choose the Bridgeman Art Library from the main page to search a database of more than 100,000 images. In 2008, this resource expanded to include The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Important collection of Islamic art consisting of over 28,000 objects from all over the Islamic world over 1400 years. High-resolution images of various objects and details about 27 volumes produced by leading specialists about the collection.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art houses an extensive collection of Islamic art dating back to the 7th century up to the present. The collection is composed of over 15,000 objects that represent the diverse cultural traditions of Islam, with works from as far west as Spain and Morocco, and as far east as Central Asia and Indonesia. The collection includes both sacred and secular objects that demonstrate the exchange of motifs such as vegetal ornament and geometric patterning, as well as the mutual influence of artistic practices like calligraphy.
The Museum of Islamic Art (MIA) located in Doha, Qatar houses an extensive collection of Islamic art from around the world, showcasing the rich diversity of Islamic heritage.
The Database contains a vast collection of painted pages dating from approximately 700 to 1900 CE, originating from various regions across the Islamic world. The collection is especially rich in Persian and Ottoman painting but also includes examples from Arab, Sultanate, Mughal, and other sources. The Database showcases a range of art forms, from illuminations and decorated Qur'an pages to book bindings and figurative paintings in manuscripts, albums, and single pages.
This journal in the field of Islamic architecture and art history published by Brill. Free access to back issues (1983-2013) and to Studies and Sources on Islamic Art and Architecture: Supplements.
