LibGuides: Islamic Studies Research Guide: Qur’an, Hadith, and Tafsir

Qur’an, Hadith, and Tafsir

The Digital Mushaf
The Digital Muṣḥaf Project aims to create a database of images of early Qurʾānic fragments from dispersed muṣḥafs or codices of the Qurʾanic text and, as far as possible, virtually re-create the original codices so that they are available for scholars and the public in one place together with descriptions and metadata.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān by Jane Dammen McAuliffe (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004123557
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
The Qur'an is the primary religious text for one-sixth of the world's population. Understood by Muslims to contain God's own words, it has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. The thousands of volumes that Muslim scholars have devoted to qur'anic interpretation and to the linguistic, rhetorical and narrative analysis of the text are sufficient to create entire libraries of qur'anic studies. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in a Western language.

The Quranic Arabic Corpus
The Quranic Arabic Corpus an annotated linguistic resource that shows the Arabic grammar, syntax, and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank, and a semantic ontology.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
ISBN: 9789004146204
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Qur n is the primary religious text for one-sixth of the world s population. Understood by Muslims to contain Gods own words, it has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. The thousands of volumes that Muslim scholars have devoted to qur nic interpretation and to the linguistic, rhetorical and narrative analysis of the text are sufficient to create entire libraries of qur nic studies.Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brills Encyclopaedia of the Qur n (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur n. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur nic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur nic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur n to appear in a Western language.Cross-referencing and indices Frequent cross-references will draw readers to related entries and each article will conclude with a citation of relevant bibliography. The final part of the EQ contains indices of transliterated terms, of qur nic references and of the authors and exegetes cited in the entries and essays. Fully international workThe EQ is a fully international work supported by an international board of advisors. Scholars from many nations have written articles for the encyclopaedia.

The Sunna Project
The Sunna Project Foundation aims to gather the complete body of hadith literature, which includes narrations of the words and deeds of the Prophet Muhammad. The foundation is working towards producing definitive critical editions of every hadith collection. In Cairo, the foundation has around a hundred hadith scholars who study and compare manuscript and printed copies of hadith collections from libraries and museums worldwide.
Al-Tafsir
Arabic and English commentaries on the Qur’an from a wide variety of viewpoints. It is the first website to cover all seven schools of Islamic jurisprudence. It includes translations of the meanings of the Qur’an in many languages. Hosted by the Royal Aal al-Bayt Institute for Islamic Thought, Amman, Jordan.