LibGuides: Islamic Studies Research Guide: Ebook Collections

Ebook Collections

EBSCOHost Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text electronic books on subjects such as history, languages, sociology, economics, computer science, psychology and religion. EBSCOHost Ebook Collection is the successor to NetLibrary. Establishing a free MyEBSCO account is required for some reading and downloading activities. Adobe Digital Editions software required to download ebooks.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History; Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security; Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Population; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Sociology; Encyclopedia of the American Constitution; Environmental Encyclopedia; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.
Georgetown University Press E-Books This link opens in a new window
Full-text materials made available through a partnership between Digital Georgetown and the Georgetown University Press. Includes books about Georgetown and books about the history of Catholic and Jesuit higher education.
Middle East and Islamic Studies eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
The Middle East and Islamic Studies eBooks from Brill is a collection of over 150 English eBooks in the areas of the Middle East and Islamic Studies.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest EBook Central offers access to thousands of books on a wide variety of subjects. Ebook Central is the successor to ebrary and EBL. A valid GU NetID is required for access.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
This collection consists of over 45,000 full-text book titles covering Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Medicine, Built Environment, Science and technology, and Law.
University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
A vast and rapidly-expanding online research library providing full-text access to the best scholarly publishing from around the world, making disparately-published scholarship easily accessible and fully searchable on a single online platform.

Arabic Collections Online (ACO)
Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content.
more...less...
ACO currently provides digital access to 11,446 volumes across 6,787 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries. Established with support from NYU Abu Dhabi, and currently supported by major grants from Arcadia, a charitable fund of Lisbet Rausing and Peter Baldwin, and Carnegie Corporation of New York, this mass digitization project aims to feature up to 23,000 volumes from the library collections of NYU and partner institutions. These institutions are contributing published books in all fields—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections.
Al-Maktaba al-Shamila
A downloadable library of over 7,000 Arabic books.
Al-Maktaba al-Waqfiyya
Useful library of scanned PDFs in Arabic in different branches of Islamic Studies.
more...less...
It includes Qur’an and tafsir, Hadith, Islamic jurisprudence (fiqh), biography of the Prophet, etc. It also covers history, Arabic language and literature and Islamic Economics. For the student of Arabic English reference sources available include: Edward William Lane’ Lexicon, Hans Wehr’s Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic, Wortabet, and Wright’s grammar.

Al Manhal e-Library This link opens in a new window
Provides online, full-text access to an extensive collection of recently published books, journals and dissertations in Arabic & English from the Arab world. This includes peer-reviewed and copyright protected publications on Business & Economics, History, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Language & Literature and Social Sciences.

Open Access TBMM
This collection of 1,230 volumes is useful for researchers of the late Ottoman and Republican periods of Turkish history.
more...less...
It includes hundreds of Ottoman language works in such areas as contemporary affairs, ethics, history, and government publications. It also includes maps of Ottoman and Turkish towns.

University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
A vast and rapidly-expanding online research library providing full-text access to the best scholarly publishing from around the world, making disparately-published scholarship easily accessible and fully searchable on a single online platform.

Al-Waraq
Searchable classical Arabic texts in various fields such as history, hadith, literature, poetry, aqidah, philosophy, Qur’an, medicine, Sufism, biography, and bibliography. Includes published edited editions and modern Arabic sources. Founded by Emirati poet Mohammed Ahmed Khalifa Al Suwaidi. Registration required.

Middle East and Islamic Studies eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
The Middle East and Islamic Studies eBooks from Brill is a collection of over 150 English eBooks in the areas of the Middle East and Islamic Studies.
De Gruyter eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
De Gruyter ebooks offer full-text access to a collection of more than 2,000 ebooks covering a wide variety of content in humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, medicine, and more.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
To login to Georgetown's instance of HathiTrust click on the large yellow "Log In" button. Select "Georgetown University" as your partner institution and click "Continue". Once prompted, login in using your NetID and password.