The collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices.
Digitized archive of five newspapers from the Middle East and North Africa:
al-Akhbār (االخبار ,Lebanon, 2006-2019)
al-Dustūr (الدستور ,Jordan, 1967-2000)
al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية ,Egypt, 1962-1986)
al-Riyāḍ (الرياض ,Saudi Arabia, 1972-1996)
Filasṭīn (فلسطين ,Israel/Palestine, 1956-1967)
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
Islam in the Modern World, 1804-1918, addresses Islam's beliefs, practices, theology, spirituality, and history. Content includes biographies of the Prophet Muhammad, works comparing Christianity and Islam, key theological and philosophical texts (including the Quran), relevant mystical and spiritual works, and texts surveying the history of Islam.
Records from the U.S. State Department's consular post in Beirut from 1920 to 1941, when Lebanon was part of the French Mandate of Syria-Lebanon. Part of Archives Unbound.
Bibliographic information and citations to scholarly articles from expertly curated Arabic journals, from Web of Science. ARCI is powered by Web of Science. and funded by the Egyptian Knowledge Bank (EKB). Search in Arabic or English.
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
Arab World Research Source is a full-text database for researchers of Arabic, Middle Eastern, and Islamic Studies. It contains academic journals, magazines, and trade publications published in or about the Arab World.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s full text collection of 350+ major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by American Theological Library Association, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology.
Indexes a fairly comprehensive list of religion periodicals with extensive coverage of essay collections and Festschriften. Covers biblical commentary, mission activity, and topics in religion and theology. The database represents the following print sources: Religion Index 1 - Periodicals, 1949-present; Religion Index 2 -Multi-author works, 1960-present; Research in Ministry, 1981-present; Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present; Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985. This collection now includes content from Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Contains more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide visual perspectives on Islam.
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
The Oxford Reference provides access to the Oxford Research Library Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East, the Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy, and the Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. This database is a comprehensive reference tool that covers a large number of full-text records.
This link opens in a new window