Islamic Studies Research Guide

The newest addition to the Bilingual Visual Dictionary series, this title will help the international visitor-whether business or recreational-absorb essential vocabulary in Arabic.

Endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is the most authoritative English-Arabic / Arabic-English dictionary ever published. Based on real modern evidence and computational analysis of hundreds of millions of words of both English and Modern Standard Arabic (thestandardized variety of Arabic used in writing and in most formal speech), the dictionary boasts more than 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations. This up-to-date resource has been designed for both Arabic and English native speakers and includes the latest vocabulary from computing,business, the media, and the arts, across both languages.The organization and layout have been designed for maximum clarity and ease of use. The most commonly used sense of each word is shown first, helping you to identify and understand the correct meaning, and more than 70,000 real-life example phrases help you interpret meaning and usage accurately.All Arabic text is shown with vowels to aid the learner of Arabic in pronunciation and comprehension and the Arabic-English section of the dictionary is usefully organised by root, which are listed alphabetically. The dictionary is also packed with extra features including tables of Arabic verbs,Arabic numbers, dates, and years, and irregular English verbs.Produced using the unique dictionary resources of Oxford University Press with an international team of expert advisors, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is a ground-breaking work, essential for any serious student of Arabic and English, as well as academics, professionals, business people, teachers,and translators.

A Concise Dictionary of Koranic Arabic is the first dictionary of its kind to appear in well over a century, i. e. after a stretch of time during which, thanks to the endeavors of both Muslim and western scholars, tremendous progress has been made towards the exact linguistic understanding of the Noble Koran, one of the most important texts of all humankind. This dictionary presents the entire Koranic lexical material in an easily accessible arrangement, with glosses in English based primarily, yet critically, on the German translation by R. Paret, with certain new proposals by the compiler. The entries are accompanied by a selective (in some instances, exhaustive) listing of their places of occurrence in the text and by the citation of a great number of relevant textual segments. The main part of the dictionary, the "Lexicon of Roots", contains the nouns and verbs, arranged by their consonantal roots, as is traditional in Arabic lexicography. This is followed by a categorized list of "Proper Names", provided in order to enable the user to look up, e. g., which prophets, which scriptures or which pagan idols are mentioned in the text. The third section, "Pronouns and Particles", is meant to provide extensive information on the syntactic structure of the text; in it are listed all the lexical items that, because of not being root-derived, could not be included in the "Lexicon of Roots". As a special feature, "Additions to the Lexicon from the Canonical Readings" surveys the additional lexical material contained in the recognized variants (the so-called "Seven Readings") of the standard text. A further feature of the dictionary is a listing of certain major and minor lexical problems arising during the close reading of the text. The dictionary is supplemented by an extensive "Appendix". This contains various lists, some semantically, some morphologically defined, that appear to be of special interest, such as the nouns and noun-phrases referring to God, the numerals, the elative forms, the designations of Judgment Day and the names of the suras and their lengths. The dictionary ends with a "Bibliography" of works of general importance, supplemented by an index referring the user to the great number of citations of special studies embedded in the individual articles. The dictionary aims at reflecting the state of the art of Koranic philology, and so at providing both a guideline for the student of Arabic and Islamics and a research tool for the specialized scholar.

An essential resource for students of Arabic and English alike, this dictionary contains the most up-to- date vocabulary in handy reference form! With more than 18,000 entries, it is especially useful in navigating the growing terminology of politics, telecommunications, technology, the internet, tourism, business and travel. Ideal for students, scholars, businesspeople, journalists, aid workers, and the military in both English-speaking and Arabic-speaking countries. Features include: : More than 18,000 total entries Clear language, pronunciation, and grammar for both sides Easy-to-read format and practical arrangement of Arabic and English entries Arabic provided with Romanized transliterations English provided with phonetic transliterations