LibGuides: GU-Q: IPOL 392: Nationalism in the Modern World: Articles

Where to start

While books can be broad in the coverage, articles are usually short and focused. To find them go to the library website and use the OneSearch tab.

If the keyword search brings various sources (ebooks, dissertations, reports, etc.), limit the content to "journal articles". Be aware of the concept of peer-reviewed journal articles: articles that have gone through a rigorous review process by scholars in their field of study.

Google Scholar is another great source for articles. Since it is multidisciplinary, be very specific with your search terms. Also, make sure Google Scholar recognizes you as a patron of the Georgetown University: go into Settings, Library links and add in Georgetown University.

Key Databases

There are many online databases you can use to find scholarly articles on nationalism. A master list of all library databases you can check here. Below are several that you can find useful:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.

Relevant Journals

A couple of useful e-journals through library subscriptions: