Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Books and Textbooks

A key component of OER is textbooks. Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

  • Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
    DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books
  • Open Textbooks | OER Commons
    This resource seeks to collect and distribute a variety of OER at a variety of levels and subjects.
  • OpenStax College
    Rice Connexions is providing peer reviewed, quality open textbooks with interactive components. There are some amazing textbooks available here, with more in production.
  • Open Textbook Library
    Hundreds of complete, open college-level textbooks collected by the University of Minnesota.
  • BC OpenEd
    A curated collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty.
  • WikiBooks
    A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia.
  • Project Gutenberg
    Find the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook creating organization in existence. Nothing fancy here, just files with the full text.
  • Google Books
    Millions of books scanned by Google including some that are available as full-text books.
  • Bloomsbury Academic
    Bloomsbury is a well-respected and long time UK publisher who has released some of their academic titles for open access/open education.