LibGuides: GU-Q INAF-100-75: The Sociological Imagination in the 21st Century: Use these Databases

What are Databases?

In the library, databases are websites that connect researchers to information online.

Most of the results you will find in databases (and HoyaSearch) are peer reviewed (or scholarly). This means a book or article that is written by an expert and reviewed by their academic peers for quality before publication.
HoyaSearch includes many of the results you will also find in databases like EBSCOHost Academic Search Premier or JSTOR.
Databases like EBSCOHost Academic Search Premier and JSTOR provide access to millions of articles.
Not all the information in the library's databases is listed in HoyaSearch. Therefore, it's necessary sometimes to go to the database directly.
Many databases offer specialized content. For example, the database Testaments to the Holocaust has content focused specifically on the Holocaust.

Use the library's A-Z Database list to explore databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
Offers definitions and explanations of key concepts and extended explorations of major topics in sociology. Includes a timeline, a lexicon by subject area, a bibliography, and an index.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents on women's suffrage, feminism, gender history, and more from the late 1800s to early 2000s, digitized from several libraries in the UK, USA, Canada, and Australia.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Surveys, speeches, audio records, and other documents from the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, spanning 1943 to 1969.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Online collection of 1750 streaming videos of critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
World History in Video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.