Databases - GU-Q INAF-100-73: Proseminar - History and Popular Culture - LibGuides at Georgetown University, School of Foreign Service in Qatar

What are Databases?

In the library, databases are websites that connect researchers to information online.

Most of the results you will find in databases (and HoyaSearch) are peer reviewed (or scholarly). This means a book or article that is written by an expert and reviewed by their academic peers for quality before publication.
HoyaSearch includes many of the results you will also find in databases like EBSCOHost Academic Search Premier or JSTOR.
Databases like EBSCOHost Academic Search Premier and JSTOR provide access to millions of articles.
Not all the information in the library's databases is listed in HoyaSearch. Therefore, it's necessary sometimes to go to the database directly.
Many databases offer specialized content. For example, the database Testaments to the Holocaust has content focused specifically on the Holocaust.

Use the library's A-Z Database list to explore databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.

Testaments to the Holocaust: Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London This link opens in a new window Online collection of eyewitness accounts from the world's oldest Holocaust museum, founded by Alfred Wiener as the 'Jewish Central Information Office' in 1939. Contains searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials. Part of Archives Unbound.
Contains searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Artemis Primary Sources Searches across Gale primary source collections, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO); Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Making of Modern Law; and The Making of the Modern World.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window Online collection of 1750 streaming videos of critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
World History in Video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.