This book is the culmination of more than three decades of meticulous historiographic research on Nazi Germany by one of the period's most distinguished historians. The volume brings together the most important and influential aspects of Ian Kershaw's research on the Holocaust for the first time.
The US decision to drop an atomic bomb on the Japanese city of Hiroshima on 6 August 1945 remains one of the most controversial events of the twentieth century. However, the controversy over the rights and wrongs of dropping the bomb has tended to obscure a number of fundamental and sobering truths about the development of this fearsome weapon.
The Palestine-Israel Conflict is the first book to provide a clear, accessible, and annotated introduction that covers the full history of the region, from Biblical times until today. Perfect for the general reader, as well as students, it offers a comprehensive yet lucid rendering of the conflict, setting it in its proper historical context.
This new collection of original Holocaust documents and sources brings readers into direct contact with perpetrators and victims. The words of Nazi leaders and common soldiers, SS doctors and European collaborators show how and why they planned and participated in mass murder. Jewish and non-Jewish victims speak of their persecution and resistance.
This collection brings together revealing primary documents on the crucial origins of the Nazi concentration camp system in the prewar years between 1933 and 1939, which have been overlooked thus far. Many of the documents are unpublished and have been translated into English for the first time.
Using contemporary diaries and letters, mainly translated from Japanese, we follow a group of Nagasaki residents, (including several Australian POWs) from the early morning of the day of the bombing of Hiroshima to midnight on the day of the second bombing in Nagasaki.
This volume ranges from the documentation of the MacMahon Letter of 1915 through the Balfour Declaration of 1917, the Hamas Charter of 1988, the Arab Peace Initiative of 2002 up to the Riyad Declaration of 2007. This is a superb compact reference volume for those researching the Israel/Palestine problem and contains all the relevant international documents on the subject.
Databases & Multimedia (small sample of what's available)
Online collection of eyewitness accounts from the world's oldest Holocaust museum, founded by Alfred Wiener as the 'Jewish Central Information Office' in 1939. Contains searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials. Part of Archives Unbound.
Contains searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials.
Streaming video of 1,000 documentaries on race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. From Alexander Street Press.
A collection of British policy papers, documents and marginalia from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. Begins with early 20th century British interests in the Middle East, continues through the establishment of Israel and on to British diplomatic relations with Israel and the Arab States in the early 1970s. Part of Archives Unbound.