Background Research - GU-Q INAF-100-73: Proseminar - History and Popular Culture - LibGuides at Georgetown University, School of Foreign Service in Qatar

What is Background Research

Background research is:

Exploring a topic with reference resources and/or introductory books. It's done to get more familiar with a topic.
From background research you can learn things like:

important names and dates
names of key events and documents
overview of a historical narrative and/or concepts

Background research can help you begin to answer who, what, when, and where (answering why usually requires more work and thought).

Example of Background Research:

You come across the phrase Wannsee Conference when reading about the history of the Holocaust. You've never heard of this before and want to learn more about it. What do you do next?

Library Resources for Background Research

Databases

Credo Reference

Gale eBooks

Books

Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust by Jack R. Fischel
Call Number: D804.25 .F57 2010
The Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust includes an updated chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant events, personalities, issues, and films and literature--because much of the public derive their understanding of the Holocaust from the arts.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia by Walter Laqueur (Editor); Judith Tydor Baumel
Call Number: INTERNET
The Holocaust Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities, and individuals.