LibGuides: Datasets &amp; Data Visualization: Introduction

Dataset Resources available from the Library

Sage Data This link opens in a new window A vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including, business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, energy, housing and construction as well as labor and employment. Dataplanet also incorporates all of the content previously available in Sage Stats.
FitchConnect This link opens in a new window Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: BMI Research FitchConnect integrates country risk, analysis of financial markets, and industry research, providing users with a variety of company and industry information including credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window Contains a wide range of historical data from the earliest times to the present. Tables cover specific indicators such as employment, income, saving, poverty, construction, housing, consumer price indexes, and others.
Includes most of the statistical series from the Statistical Abstract of the United States. The electronic version is based on the five volume print edition of 2006 -- copy in Lau Ref: HA202.H57
International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Researchers Dataset This link opens in a new window Composite rankings of variables related to political, financial, and economic risk in 140 countries. We have Tables 2B ("Four Key Risk Ratings") and 3Ba ("Political Risk Points by Subcomponent"). Data through April 2019.
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window Formerly World Debt Tables, this resource presents statistics on public and publicly guaranteed debt of 138 countries and regional and income groups. Contains many types of data from the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, including total external debt stocks and flows, key debt ratios, major economic aggregates, average terms of new commitments (private and public), currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructing, workers’ remittances, and net inward foreign direct investment (FDI).
International Debt Statistics (IDS), successor to Global Development Finance and World Debt Tables, is designed to respond to user demand for timely, comprehensive data on trends in external debt in low- and middle-income countries. The World Bank’s Debtor Reporting System (DRS), from which the aggregate and country tables presented in this report are drawn, was established in 1951. World Debt Tables, the first publication that included DRS external debt data, appeared in 1973 and gained increased attention during the debt crisis of the 1980s. Since then, the publication and data have undergone numerous revisions and iterations to address the challenges and demands posed by the global economic conditions.
KILM: Key Indicators of the Labour Market This link opens in a new window KILM is a dataset of 17 economic indicators related to labor and employment. Data is by country. A product of the International Labour Organization (ILO), an agency of the United Nations.
Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window Note: Access to datasets requires that you create a free account on the Pew website. "A nonpartisan 'fact tank' that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
Includes seven projects: the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press, the Project for Excellence in Journalism, the Pew Internet & American Life Project, the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, the Pew Hispanic Center, the Pew Global Attitudes Project, and Social & Demographic Trends.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations from the 1930's to the present.
Also included is access to the archives and publications of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, which contain over 17,000 datasets, JPOLL (Japanese Public Opinion), Japanese Data Library, Latin American Databank, and all issues of Public Perspective Magazine. Registration is necessary.
Social Conflict Analysis Database (SCAD) This link opens in a new window The Social Conflict Analysis Database (SCAD) includes protests, riots, strikes, inter-communal conflict, government violence against civilians, and other forms of social conflict not systematically tracked in other conflict datasets. SCAD currently includes information social conflicts from 1990-2016, covering all of Africa and now also Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean.
Statista This link opens in a new window Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Working with Data training videos from Georgetown University Library

Tableau

Tableau Public

Free data visualization software

Datasets & Data Visualization: Introduction

Introduction to Datasets

What is a Dataset?

Dataset Resources available from the Library

Working with Data training videos from Georgetown University Library

Tableau

Tableau Public