IPOL 386: US Foreign and Security Policy

Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.

Full-text and abstracted publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. Contains publications dating from 1982 to the present.

Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.

Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats.

Digitized collections of the National Archives (UK) provided by Adam Matthew

Collections include:
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
Confidential Print : Middle East, 1839-1969
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.

Geographic, political, and economic information in narrative and statistical form on 192 individual countries. Provides GDP, growth, money, prices, unemployment, government, debt, trade, and balance of payments. Productivity data on five key sectors. Gives country rankings for trade, population, productivity, development and technology.

Publishes 12,000-word reports covering the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more on a weekly basis. Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.

Foreign Office files for China, 1919 - 1980 makes available the complete British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan for much of the Twentieth Century. The documents combine eyewitness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, economic assessments and synopses.

These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. As well as tracing the international connections between India, the Commonwealth and the wider world, this collection offers unique insights into political movements and cross-border tensions that were central to the modern state's preoccupation with stability and national unification.

Digitized files from Foreign and Commonwealth Office departments concerned with the Middle East, as well as relevant selections from Prime Minister's Office files and Defence Intelligence files. The documents include diplomatic correspondence, dispatches from UK ambassadors and envoys, meeting minutes, and maps. Module I covers 1971-1974, including the 1973 Arab-Israeli war and oil crisis. Module II covers 1974-1978.

To access, enter your Georgetown email in the login box. You will be taken to the standard Georgetown NetID login screen to complete authentication.
News and analysis on state and international security, terrorism and insurgency, proliferation, resource security, and organized crime. Includes articles from Jane's publications Country Risk Daily Report, Intelligence Weekly, Terrorism and Insurgency Monitor, Intelligence Review, and more.

A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.

Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.