GU-Q: Reference Resources

The premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews.

Full text of the New York Review of Books from the first issue in 1963 to the present.

Primary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).

Digital images of historically significant American periodicals from 1740 to 1900, including literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and popular magazines. All typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts appear exactly as originally published. Allows searching by article type (e.g., letter, obituary, poetry, recipe, ad, editorial cartoon, review).

Indexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Limit search to 'Book Review' under Document Type.

Index to the most popular general-interest magazines and journals published in the United States. For 1890 to 1982, use the Readers' Guide Retrospective.

Select Advanced Search. Use the 'Entertainment Review' limiter at the bottom.

A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.

Provides reviews from newspapers and magazines from 1980. 1) Select All News. 2) Enter movie name in the first search box. 3) Set the Specify date box (optional). 4) Select source. 5) Limit to Movie Review.

Complete historical coverage of The Atlanta Constitution, The Baltimore Sun, The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal. Click the "more" link below for direct links.