GU-Q: Reference Resources

QATAR

• Hukoomi 
  Online portal to Qatar's government. A one-stop shop for government information and services for residents and visitors. [English/Arabic]

• Ministries

USA

• USA.gov
  Public gateway to Government Information. Provides links to many things that can be done online (register your vehicle, find the cheapest gas in your area, find child care, buy stamps, etc.). It also allows you to explore useful government information such as grants & benefits consumer protection, health, nutrition, etc. You can find your legislators or governors with an interactive map and a great deal more.

• U.S. Department of State
  US State Department homepage. Policy information and reports on human rights, countries and a great deal more. Of note is a collection of Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS Reports).

• Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 
  More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.

• Declassified Documents
  Provides access to post- World War II papers from the CIA, the FBI and many other agencies, which have been gathered from presidential libraries. Major domestic and international events of the post-World War II world are covered, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, and the civil rights movement. Documents display in a digital facsimile format or ASCII text.

UN Resources

• AccessUN
  Indexes current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications and includes full-text of several thousand UN documents.

• The United Nations
  Information on human rights, development, international law, peace & security and humanitarian affairs from across the globe.

• UN ODS: Official Documents of the United Nations
  ODS has full text documents and covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Includes resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. For best results, use the Advanced Search option and enter a keyword, then click on 'Lexicon' to find the best match.

• UNdata
  Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
   
• United Nations - Environmental Statistics - Country Snapshots
  Country Snapshots provide a selection of national environment statistics, complemented by key economic and social indicators.
   
• United Nations -- Population Division
   
• United Nations Yearbook
  Provides details of the activities of the UN and its organs, programmes, and bodies from 1946 through 2000. Includes major General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council resolutions.

Others

• Amnesty International
  A worldwide campaigning movement that works to promote all the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international standards.
   
• International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  An organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employmnet and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

• Global Exchange
  Left-centered non-profit research, education, and action center dedicated to promoting people-to-people ties around the world.

• Human Rights
  The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices are submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

• North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
  Information on NATO's policies and structures, official documents, press releases, speeches and publications.
   
• Organization of American States
  An organization of 35 American nations working on social issues such as strengthening democracy, advancing human rights, promoting peace and security, expanding trade and tackling complex problems caused by poverty, drugs and corruption.

• World Trade Organization
  The organization administers trade agreements, handles trade disputes, and facilitates negotiations.
   
• Worldbank
  The world's largest source of development assistance.