LibGuides: Writ 1155: Writing and Culture: Databases

Research Databases to Articles, Ebooks and more

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR Images Search This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital library containing images of artworks, photographs, architecture, decorative arts, rare books, and items from popular culture. Includes images from the Artstor collection, as well as other collections.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Qatar Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and its wider regions. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualized explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic. The QDL results from a partnership between the British Library and the Qatar National Library to digitize a wide range of content from the British Library's collections relating to the history of Qatar and the Gulf region, Arabic culture, and the Islamic world.

Web Sources for Middle East Architecture

ArchNet
Over 100,000 images of the architecture of Muslim societies, curated and contextualized for scholarly research.
Islamic Landmarks
IslamicLandmarks.com is a website resource dedicated to bringing together places of historical Islamic interest from around the world. It was founded upon the realization that the Ummah is largely unaware of many of our historical places. Information is available in the form of books and websites, but these generally concentrate on very specific parts of the world. This site is intended to bring together photographs and facts of these ‘landmarks’ in one location. This will give Muslims (and non-Muslims) a much-needed source of reference to help revive interest in our history and the importance of past personalities and places.
Khamseen
Khamseen: Islamic Art History Online is a free and open-access online platform of digital resources to aid the teaching and learning of the history of Islamic art, architecture, and visual culture. It currently offers a collection of short-form video talks on Topics, Terms, and Concepts important for the scholarly discipline of Islamic art history. These Topics and Terms are also collected into Themes for subject-based exploration.