Writ 1155: Writing and Culture

The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Recent changes in Islamic art in areas such as Afghanistan, Iran, and Iraq are elucidated here by distinguished scholars. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world. With the fundamental understanding that Islamic art is not limited to a particular region, or to a defined period of time, The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture offers pathways into Islamic culture through its art.

The Dictionary of Islamic Architecture provides the fullest range of artistic, technical, archaeological, cultural and biographical data for the entire geographical and chronological spread of Islamic architecture - from West Africa through the Middle East to Indonesia, and from the seventh to the eighteenth centuries of the Common Era. Over 500 entries are arranged alphabetically and fully cross-referenced and indexed to permit easy access to the text and to link items of related interest. Four main categories of subject matter are explored: * dynastic and regional overviews * individual site descriptions * biographical entries * technical definitions Over 100 relevant plans, sketch maps, photographs and other illustrations complement and illuminate the entries, and the needs of the reader requiring further information are met by individual entry bibliographies.

A comprehensive introduction for scholars and practitioners to the state of Islamic architecture as a field of inquiry and a snapshot of the issues and challenges facing the field today.  This book brings together established experts, designers, and emerging scholars from the broad world of Islamic architecture to consider the field's changing nature and continued relevance in our rapidly globalizing context. Reflective essays address the meaning of "Islamic" in built environments, as well as the geographical, chronological, and disciplinary diversity of a dynamic field of study that encompasses far more than medieval mosques and tombs. Essays address the use and interpretation of historic structures and spaces; contemporary design, conservation, and touristic experience; and research, publication, and pedagogical practices. Looking forward, the volume invites readers to consider built environments in Islamic contexts as integral to global systems from an interdisciplinary and inclusive standpoint. While this volume offers nuanced perspectives on a host of pressing questions, it ultimately aims to advance a necessary and ongoing conversation. The book will have wide appeal among architectural historians, art historians, and other scholars working on material in the traditional Islamic regions of the world (North Africa, the Middle East, and South Asia) and beyond, as well as scholars of religion and society. 

Updated and expanded, this Fourth Edition of the most trusted reference in architecture offers the most comprehensive coverage of architectural and construction terms available. This classic dictionary now features nearly 25,000 definitions (including 2,800 new terms), 2,500 illustrations (including 200 new illustrations), and maintains its extraordinary visual appeal and easy-to-read page design.Prepared by a renowned architectural editor in association with expert contributors and incorporating the work of many standards groups, the book presents clear, concise definitions of terms in nearly 80 working areas. The Fourth Edition covers new industry terms which have emerged due to changes in engineering and building technologies, organizations, materials, and legal developments, and has been expanded to include more historic architectural styles. New terms include: LegalArchitectural Barriers ActWheelchair AccessibleMaterialsFibrous ConcreteLatex MortarPolymer-Based StuccoConcrete Compliance ConformityRefractory MortarOrganizationsBuilding Research Establishment (formerly Building Research Station) of Great BritainASTMHistoric Architectural StylesAnglo-PalladianismFrench VictorianIsabellinoMudajarMozarabicNeo-Rococ