LibGuides: GU-Q THEO-113-70: Religious Pluralism in the Middle East &amp; Islamic World: Getting Started

Important Concepts and Tips

Use the online reference sources listed in this guide to find background information on religious pluralism in the Middle East.

Look for important keywords, people, places, and dates that you can use in subsequent searches.

Remember to follow the references/bibliography at the end of the pages to find more sources.

Please Note: If you are not finding what you need, schedule an appointment with a librarian using this link.

Online Resources to get started

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI2) This link opens in a new window
The major scholarly encyclopedia in Islamic & Middle Eastern studies. This is a multi-volume work containing signed articles on all aspects of the Islamic world: religious, biographical, historical, and social.
Short bibliographies of classical works accompany signed articles. Many articles in the new editions (EI2 & EI3) have been revised and updated. The second edition is now complete. See Transliteration table for Brill OnlineTransliteration table for Brill Online to see how words in Arabic & other non-roman script languages are romanized.

The first edition, now published as E.J. Brill's First Encyclopaedia of Islam, 1913-1936, is also useful. Sister titles: Encyclopaedia of Islam Three (EI3), Encyclopaedia Islamica (in progress), Encyclopedia of the Qur'an.

All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "Related Publications" on the search page.
Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE (EI3) This link opens in a new window
Newest edition of Ency. of Islam (still in progress). Edited by Gudrun Kramer, et al.
"with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship... The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world."
All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "Related Publications" on the search page.
See Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how words in Arabic & other non-roman script languages are romanized.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
20,000 streaming documentaries, educational films, and instructional videos from the Films Media Group. Collections include Humanities & Social Sciences and Archival Films & Newsreels.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographical information on more than 150,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History; Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security; Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Population; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Sociology; Encyclopedia of the American Constitution; Environmental Encyclopedia; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is accessible only by Qatar National Library (QNL) members. Click here to apply for membership.
The Oxford Reference provides access to the Oxford Research Library Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East, the Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy, and the Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. This database is a comprehensive reference tool that covers a large number of full-text records.

More on Reference Resouces

Reference Resources
Guide all about reference resources available from the library

Primary Sources

A primary source provides direct or firsthand evidence about an event, object, person, or work of art. Primary sources include:

sources
documents
historical and legal documents
statistical data
eyewitness accounts (Newspaper articles sometimes are in this category)
pieces of creative writing
audio and video recordings
speeches
interviews (if the interviewee experienced the event as an eyewitness)
correspondence
diaries
letters

Learn More: Primary Sources from Yale University
Description of the various types of primary resources with examples

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources describe, discuss, interpret, comment upon, analyze, evaluate, summarize, and process primary sources. Secondary source materials can be articles in newspapers or popular magazines, book or movie reviews, or articles found in scholarly journals that discuss or evaluate someone else's original research.

What is a Monograph?

A monograph is a specialist work of writing or exhibition on a single subject or an aspect of a subject

What is the Writing Center?

We offer support to GU-Q students throughout all stages of the writing process, from brainstorming to revision.
Our goal is to help you become a better writer; we are here to support all level of writers from struggling writers to the more experienced writer.
Rather than proofreading papers, we will help you develop your own revision and editing skills.
We are staffed by trained professionals and high-achieving peer tutors.

Location

Ground floor in the Library in room OB11

Book an Appointment with the Writing Center

GU-Q THEO-113-70: Religious Pluralism in the Middle East & Islamic World

Your Librarian

Important Concepts and Tips

Online Resources to get started

More on Reference Resouces

What is the Writing Center?