Full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of communication and media. To search only the Communication and Media Studies collection, go to the "Search Within" section and select "Communication and Media Studies" listed under "Social Sciences & Humanities."
Includes the full text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies in the areas of journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies/intercultural communication, television/film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational/management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
What are Databases?
In the library, databases are websites that connect researchers to information online.
Most of the results you will find in databases (and HoyaSearch) are peer reviewed (or scholarly). This means a book or article that is written by an expert and reviewed by their academic peers for quality before publication.
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Specialized Databases
GenderWatchThis link opens in a new windowPublications focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas and include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization and special reports. The database provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are central to women's lives as well as topics on the impact of gender and gender roles.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new window20,000 streaming documentaries, educational films, and instructional videos from the Films Media Group. Collections include Humanities & Social Sciences and Archival Films & Newsreels.
