Background Research - GU-Q INAF-100: Proseminar - Women in/and Journalism - LibGuides at Georgetown University, School of Foreign Service in Qatar

What is Background Research

Background research is:

Exploring a topic with reference resources and/or introductory books. It's done to get more familiar with a topic.
From background research you can learn things like:

important names and dates
names of key events and documents
overview of a historical narrative and/or concepts

Background research can help you begin to answer who, what, when, and where (answering why usually requires more work and thought).

Example of Background Research:

You come across the topic Women in Journalism when reading about the history of journalism. You'd like to learn more about it. What do you do next?

Library Resources for Background Research

Databases

Credo Reference

Gale eBooks

Books

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Richard C. Martin; Gale (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience.
Encyclopedia of American Journalism The Encyclopedia of American Journalism explores the distinctions found in print media, radio, television, and the internet. This work seeks to document the role of these different forms of journalism in the formation of America's understanding and reaction to political campaigns, war, peace, protest, slavery, consumer rights, civil rights, immigration, unionism, feminism, environmentalism, globalization, and more. This work also explores the intersections between journalism and other phenomena in American Society, such as law, crime, business, and consumption. The evolution of journalism's ethical standards is discussed, as well as the important libel and defamation trials that have influenced journalistic practice, its legal protection, and legal responsibilities. Topics covered include: Associations and Organizations; Historical Overview and Practice; Individuals; Journalism in American History; Laws, Acts, and Legislation; Print, Broadcast, Newsgroups, and Corporations; Technologies.
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Journalism by Christopher H. Sterling
Publication Date: 2009
The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
The encyclopedia of war journalism 1807-2010
Publication Date: 2010
A to Z of Women in World History by Erika A. Kuhlman
Call Number: CT3202 .K84 2002
A one-volume encyclopedic reference to those extraordinary women form around the globe who have made their mark in every division of achievement. More than 260 detailed entries are grouped by each woman's claim to fame.