LibGuides: GU-Q: HIST 1602: Middle East Civilization II: Books

Library Services

This guide is designed to help you find the best resources for your assignments for the course of "Middle East Civilization II".

Consultations

Drop by my office (1B15), or send me an email (pt491@georgetown.edu) to arrange for an individual consultation. I can help you locate reliable and authoritative library sources, books, articles, or primary sources. d

Working Hours

Librarian: I am available from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Sunday - Thursday.

Library: Working Hours

Modern Middle Eastern History

The Middle East in Modern World History by Ernest Tucker
Call Number: DS62.7 .T83 2013
The Middle East in Modern World History focuses on the history of this region over the past 200 years. It examines how global trends during this period shaped the Middle East and how these trends were affected by the region's development.
The Middle East in the Twentieth Century by Martin Sicker
Call Number: DS62.8 .S54 2001
The geopolitical history of the Middle East in the twentieth century, which falls into three relatively distinct phases, is best understood when approached simultaneously from the global and the regional perspectives.
A Modern History of the Islamic World by Reinhard Schulze
Call Number: DS62.8 .S44413 2000
The Islamic world--defined as those regions in which Islam is the dominant or single most important religion--covers territories as far apart as Morocco and Indonesia, Somalia, and Bosnia and includes an extraordinary range of societies and cultures.

Use a reference source like Credo to conduct a background search on your topic

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Provides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC) This link opens in a new window
Examines in-depth the role and conditions of Islamic women in history, law, family, politics, sexuality, among other topics, by subject and by geographic region. Online edition continuously updated.
See Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how Arabic, etc. words are romanized.
All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "all titles" on the search page; to limit your search to only one title, select "this title".
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History; Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security; Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Population; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Sociology; Encyclopedia of the American Constitution; Environmental Encyclopedia; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.

GU-Q: HIST 1602: Middle East Civilization II

Librarian

Links

Library Services

Consultations

Working Hours

Modern Middle Eastern History

Using Subjects to Focus your Research