LibGuides: GU-Q: HIST 181: United States History II: General Background Information

General Background Information

Databases to get you started

These databases provide background information that can help familiarize you with the broad dates, individuals, concepts, and events related to history.

Credo Reference
Provides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Gale eBooks
Provides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History; Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security; Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Population; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Sociology; Encyclopedia of the American Constitution; Environmental Encyclopedia; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.

Books in the library

Although information can be found instantly using the Internet, sometimes its helpful to read encyclopedias and scan the library stacks.

The New Encyclopaedia Britannica 2007 by Encyclopaedia Britannica Publishers
Call Number: AE5 .E363 2007

The 2007 Encyclopedia Britannica combines today's current topics with 239 years of expertise and delivers more depth, breadth, and information than other encyclopedias.
American Decades by Manly; Vincent Tompkins (Editor)
Call Number: E169.12 .A419 1994

Intended as a reference source for American social history, these volumes discuss the people, events and ideas of the period 1900-1990. After an introductory overview and chronology, subject chapters follow with subject-specific timelines and alphabetically arranged entries.
Encyclopedia of American history by Gary B. Nash, general editor
Call Number: E174 .E53 2010

Covers significant events, individuals, and topics in American history from the fifteenth century to the present