It is important for delegates to conduct thorough research on the topics being discussed during the conference. Participants should focus not only on understanding their country's views, but those of fellow member states.
Here are some key resources delegates can use to gain familiarity with their topics. (Some of the following resources are GUQ subscriptions resources and require GUQ log-in credentials)
This resource may contain content still classified by the United States Government. Individuals holding security clearances use at their own risk.
A full-text database of 35 core collections of primary documents acquired by the George Washington University based National Security Archive. Each core collection is focused on one topic, e.g. Iran-Contra, Terrorism and U.S. Policy.
Each topical collection includes diverse policy documents supplemented by contextual and reference material on chronology, glossary and bibliography.
This collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series and others. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.
Also includes: the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more.
The Historic Archives contains an introduction prepared by an eminent international law scholar or practitioner with special expertise on the subject, information on its procedural history and related documents, as well as the text and status of the instrument. Each legal instrument is accompanied by audiovisual materials, including film footage, audio recordings and photos, relating to the negotiation and adoption of the instrument at meetings or diplomatic conferences.
International Court of Justice official site. The Court is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, headquartered at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Court rulings reflect its role to settle legal disputes submitted to it by States, and to advise on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized international organs and agencies.
A synthesis of one of UNHCR’s flagship publications.The book itself was produced during 2011-2012, and written from the perspective of UNHCR, drawing on experiences from the past seven years. It is divided into eight thematic chapters, which together reflect the state of the world’s refugees.
This site gives access to research, lectures, and archives generated through the United Nations. It is useful for individuals doing research on international law, and on UN sponsored publications and discourses.
Contains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties.
Languages are English and French, and the original language of the treaty.
ODS has full text documents and covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Includes resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. For best results, use the Advanced Search option and enter a keyword, then click on 'Lexicon' to find the best match.
