This publication contains topographic and thematic maps of the Middle East and North Africa (MENA). For each of the five
regions (Middle East 1, Middle East 2, Arabian Peninsula, North Africa 1, North Africa 2) maps of topography, ethnic and linguistic
groups, religious and sectarian groups, as well as oil and gas fields are shown.
A 5-volume work, the Encyclopedia covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic). Many articles authored by Georgetown faculty. Vol. 5 is Index. The electronic version will be continuously updated.
Also in print.
Call number: LAU Ref Arabic and Islamic Studies PJ6031 .E5 2006
See Transliteration table for Brill OnlineTransliteration table for Brill Online to see how words in Arabic & other non-roman script languages are romanized.
All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "all titles" on the search page; to limit your search to only one title, select "this title".
Newest edition of Ency. of Islam (still in progress). Edited by Gudrun Kramer, et al.
"with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship... The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world."
All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "Related Publications" on the search page.
See Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how words in Arabic & other non-roman script languages are romanized.
International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Provides an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.
Contains more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide visual perspectives on Islam.
