This collection contains selected historical news stories, cables, and other documents from 1967 to 2005 generated by the Associated Press news bureaus in Ankara, Beirut, and Jerusalem.
The documents include some AP photos, including the photo of the “Hope for Peace” statue in Yarze, Lebanon – a giant monolith of old tanks, field artillery, and concrete.
Exceptionally well-known and respected series of British archival reprints. Britain's rich history with Middle Eastern countries via its East India Company trade routes up through the Persian Gulf & beyond is revealed in the 100+ individual titles on countries in the Middle Eastern collection. The Slavic & Balkan collection delivers a good introduction to the Balkan region, particularly concerning political & ethnic boundary issues.
Titles in the East/Southeast Asian collection deliver insight with historic political & economic reports. All volumes are entirely composed of primary source material, from the British Foreign Record Office & other official British archival repositories.
The collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices.
Reproduces online in searchable, PDF page images, important British Foreign Office and Colonial Office documents on Africa from the start of the historical modern British colonial enterprise in Africa through the first years of African national independence.
Digitized files from Foreign and Commonwealth Office departments concerned with the Middle East, as well as relevant selections from Prime Minister's Office files and Defence Intelligence files. The documents include diplomatic correspondence, dispatches from UK ambassadors and envoys, meeting minutes, and maps. Module I covers 1971-1974, including the 1973 Arab-Israeli war and oil crisis. Module II covers 1974-1978.
The documents include diplomatic correspondence, dispatches from UK ambassadors and envoys, meeting minutes, and maps. Module I covers 1971-1974, including the 1973 Arab-Israeli war and oil crisis.
Iraq 1914-1974 offers a broad range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Includes major policy statements and other working documents as well as the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil and arms dealing. Part of Archives Unbound..
Known as MENALIB this is an"... information portal for Middle East and Islamic Studies. It provides access to online information and to digital records of printed and other offline media and thus supports the concept of a hybrid library for Middle East and Islamic Studies."
Records from the George H.W. Bush administration about the Middle East peace process between Israel, Palestine, and related Arab states from 1989 to 1993. Part of Archives Unbound.
