LibGuides: GU-Q HIST-106: Atlantic World: Primary Sources

Primary Resources

The Portuguese in West Africa, 1415-1670 by Malyn Newitt (Editor)
Call Number: DT472 .P67 2010

The Portuguese in West Africa, 1415-1670 brings together a collection of documents - all in new English translation - that illustrate aspects of the encounters between the Portuguese and the peoples of North and West Africa in the period from 1400 to 1650.
Major Problems in Atlantic History by Alison Games; Adam Rothman
Call Number: E18.82 .M25 2008

Designed to encourage critical thinking about history, the Major Problems Series introduces students to both primary sources and analytical essays on important topics in US history.
Memories of the Enslaved by Lonnie G. Bunch (Editor); Spencer R. Crew (Editor); Clement A. Price (Editor)
Call Number: E444 .M46 2015

This book offers a first-person perspective on the institution of slavery in America, providing powerful, engaging interviews from the WPA slave narrative collection that enable readers to gain a true sense of the experience of enslavement. * Provides a historical overview of the scholarship on slavery via first-person perspectives into the institution of slavery.

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s extraordinary holdings of slavery and abolition materials delivers more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years. Long awaited in fully searchable form, The American Slavery Collection addresses every facet of American slavery—one of the most important and controversial topics in U.S. history. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era, Reconstruction I & II and Gilded Age I (1857-1912)
Provides electronic access to all issues of Harper's Weekly (including all illustrations and advertisements) published between 1857 (first issue) and 1912, with the capacity to browse or search by date, by literary genre, and by a person's occupation
ProQuest Civil War Era
Contains nearly 2,000 slavery, anti-slavery, and Civil War pamphlets and the complete runs of eight regional newspapers covering 1840-1865. Cross-searchable with other historical newspapers and the American Periodicals Series.

American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology - American Studies Hypertexts at the University of Virginia
Voices from the Days of Slavery - The Library of Congress, American History
The Abolition Seminar - sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and hosted by the Library Company of Philadelphia.