Articles - GU-Q INAF 100-76 Proseminar - Nuclear Proliferation - LibGuides at Georgetown University, School of Foreign Service in Qatar

Finding Articles - Introduction to Library Databases

Where to Start?

Go to the library website (if you know the database title) or the A-Z Database list (if you want to browse all databases)

Authority

Be aware of the concept of peer-reviewed journal articles. These journal articles have gone through a rigorous review process by scholars in their field of study. You want to avoid articles that are not peer-reviewed, like popular magazines and many online sources (e.g. blogs, message boards, personal websites, etc.)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

WorldCat - catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories