NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A celebration of American history through the music that helped to shape a nation, by Pulitzer Prize winner Jon Meacham and music superstar Tim McGraw.
This book provides a chronological look at American music from colonial times to the end of the 20th century revised and updated to reflect the latest scholarship and critical views.
A history database with 50,000 tracks, allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more'. Now includes African American Song.
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: African American Music Reference
Chronicles the history of African-American music through 1970, offering electronic access to coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, early slave spirituals, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Brings together reference texts in this subject area (discographies, biographies, encyclopedias, bibliographies, chronologies, editorially selected Web resources) with songsheets, images, lyrics (digitized and fully searchable), sheet music covers, and manuscripts. Rare and previously unpublished items are included. The reference citations link to musical tracks and performances so that users can then listen to the music.
Electronic collection of music, songs, and aural traditions produced with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. It includes a variety of styles including folk, blues, bluegrass, old time country, American Indian, international, jazz, classical, Broadway, children's, and spoken words and sounds.
The Cambridge History of American Music by 
Songs of America by 
Music in the United States by