LibGuides: IPOL-3576: Political Resilience and Social Identities: Home

Library Services

This guide is designed to help you find the best resources for your assignments in the course "Political Resilience and Social Identities."

Consultations

Drop by my office (1B15, Library 1st floor), book an appointment with me, or send me an email (pt491@georgetown.edu) to arrange for an individual consultation. I can help you locate academic and scholarly materials for your assignments, flesh out your ideas for a podcast, or assist you using StoryMaps and Google Sites.

Working Hours

Librarian: I am available from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Sunday - Thursday.

Library: Working Hours

Reference Databases

CountryWatch
Geographic, political, and economic information in narrative and statistical form on 192 individual countries. Provides GDP, growth, money, prices, unemployment, government, debt, trade, and balance of payments. Productivity data on five key sectors. Gives country rankings for trade, population, productivity, development and technology.
Credo Reference
Provides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Gale eBooks
Provides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History; Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security; Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Population; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Sociology; Encyclopedia of the American Constitution; Environmental Encyclopedia; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.

Starting Out - Books

Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East
Call Number: e-book

Publication Date: 2011

This encyclopedia is an essential guide to the different ethno-linguistic groups in Africa and today's complicated Middle East region.Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East contains encyclopedic entries arranged alphabetically within ethno-linguistic classifications. Each entry has four main sections: an introduction identifying the language group, where they are found, and their numbers; a brief discussion of their origins and early history; a section on cultural life that includes religion, literature, social organization, and art; and a final section on political organization and recent history.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women
Call Number: BP173.4 .O94 2013

Publication Date: 2013

Scholarship on Islam and women has expanded exponentially over the past twenty years, with increasing specialization within the field, as well as cross-pollination between other fields and disciplines. With this surge in interest there is a genuine need for a systematic reference work to provide balanced comprehensive coverage of the field.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics
Call Number: BP173.7 .O94 2014

Publication Date: 2014

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics provides in-depth coverage of the political dimensions of Islam and the Muslim world.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism, Two-Volume Set
Call Number: JC311 .E63 2000

Publication Date: 2000

Nationalism has unexpectedly become a leading local and international force since the end of the Cold War. Long predicted to give way to pan-national or economic organizations, nationalism exerts its tremendous force on all continents and in a wide variety of ways.

IPOL-3576: Political Resilience and Social Identities

Librarian

Quick Links

Tip: Citing

Library Services

Consultations

Working Hours

Reference Databases

Starting Out - Books