LibGuides: GU-Q CULP 3870-70: Language and Society in the Arab World: Library Resources

Hoyasearch - Library Catalog

Subclass P

Browse the shelves under category P on the 2nd floor of the library. Remember to always check the books next to the book you are looking for; books of the same topic are arranged on the same shelf and you might discover something that didn't come up in your catalogue search!

P1-1091 Philology. Linguistics

P1-85 General

PJ6001-8517 Arabic

PJ6073-7144 Language

PJ6690-6697 Ancient Arabic
PJ6701-6901 Modern Arabic dialects
PJ6950-7144 South Arabian

PJ6950-6981 Ancient
PJ7051-7144 Modern

PJ7501-8517 Arabic literature

PJ7695.8-7976 Individual authors or works

Modern Arabic Sociolinguistics by Abdulkafi Albirini
Call Number: P40.45.A65 A55 2015

Publication Date: 2015

Modern Arabic Sociolinguistics outlines and evaluates the major approaches and methods used in Arabic sociolinguistic research with respect to diglossia, codeswitching, language variation and attitudes and social identity.
Arabic Sociolinguistics by Reem Bassiouney
Call Number: P40.45.A65 B37 2009

Publication Date: 2009

This introduction to major topics in the field of Arabic sociolinguistics examines key issues in diglossia, code-switching, gendered discourse, language variation and change, and language policies. It introduces and evaluates various theoretical approaches and models, and it illustrates the usefulness and limitations of these approaches to Arabic with empirical data.
A Cultural History of the Arabic Language by Sharron Gu
Call Number: PJ6075 .G8 2013

Publication Date: 2013

This history of literary Arabic describes the evolution of Arabic poetry and prose in the context of music, ritual performance, the arts and architecture.
Arabic in the Fray by Yasir Suleiman
Call Number: PJ6075 .S85 2013

Publication Date: 2013

The pre-modern period saw a background of inter-ethnic strife among Arabs and non-Arabs, mainly Persians. Starting from the symbolic and cognitive roles of language, Yasir Suleiman shows how discussions about the inimitability and (un)translatability of the Qur'an in this period were, at some deep level, concerned with issues of ethnic election. In this respect, theology and ethnicity emerge as partners in theorising language.
Arabic, Self and Identity by Yasir Suleiman
Call Number: P35.5.A65 S78 2011

Publication Date: 2011

Arabic, Self, and Identity uses autoethnography, autobiography, and a detailed study of names to investigate the links between conflict and displacement, and between the Self and group identity. In the process it raises questions about trauma and globalization, underscoring the complex roles of language and identity in society.

Library Databases

Literature Online (LION)
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 full-text works of English and American poetry, drama, and fiction with complementary criticism, reference resources, and websites. Includes over 800 clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work.

Allows you to:
--search both the MLA International Bibliography and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, with links to full-text articles from over 200 literature journals.
--find a list of works by or about a particular author
--search simultaneously across primary works and secondary sources
--access 1,550 author biographies

Includes full-text databases such as African-American Poetry, Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Early English Prose Fiction, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, English Drama, English Poetry.

Includes reference sources such as The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English, Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism, Encyclopedia of the Novel, New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, the King James Bible, and Webster's Third New International Dictionary.
Al Manhal e-Library
Provides online, full-text access to an extensive collection of recently published books, journals and dissertations in Arabic & English from the Arab world. This includes peer-reviewed and copyright protected publications on Business & Economics, History, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Language & Literature and Social Sciences.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Citations to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics, speech, and communication. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and psycholinguistics.
ERIC (via ed.gov)
Search ERIC for articles, books, papers, reports, and other materials on education topics, such as teaching, pedagogy, curriculum, bilingual education, counseling, policy, theory, and subjects of instruction. Many ERIC documents (identified with an ED number) are available full-text within ERIC.
Arabic Collections Online
Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. ACO currently provides digital access to 13,224 volumes across 7,842 subjects from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries. Established with support from NYU Abu Dhabi and currently supported by major grants from Arcadia, a charitable fund of Lisbet Rausing and Peter Baldwin, and Carnegie Corporation of New York, this mass digitization project aims to feature up to 23,000 volumes from the library collections of NYU and partner institutions. These institutions are contributing published books in all fields—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections.