HIST 008: Introduction to Late European History

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.

Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

The Hansard Digitisation Project, led by the Directorate of Information Services of the House of Commons and the Library of the House of Lords, provides electronic access to Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. Search by volume; Lords sittings; Commons sittings or Westminster Hall sittings. Included are Written Answers, Written Statements, Lords reports or Grand Committee reports, as well as lists of People, Constituencies, Offices, Acts, Bills and Divisions.

This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Providing full-text access for all collection content published up to the year 2015, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology. Collections include: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969. Section II: Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire. Section III: The Visible Empire. Section IV: Religion & Empire. Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, 1607-2007.

Online access to paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science. Almost all "classic" works of French literature are represented.

This collection includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. Access is available for the 19th century (1801-1900) collection.

Collection of digital facsimile images of 61,000 works of literature on economics and business published from 1450 through 1945. Covers commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.

A "scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first."

The 19th Century British Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Papers of the House of Lords of the United Kingdom
Search this website for debates, statements, bills, and questions by the Lords from 1803 - present.

Provides scholarly complete editions of classics (or selections from classics) in philosophy, literature, political science and economics. Examples of authors include Aristotle, Machiavelli, Shelley, Mill, Hume, Nietzsche, Bronte and Adam Smith.
In English translation and/or the original language.

Online collection of eyewitness accounts from the world's oldest Holocaust museum, founded by Alfred Wiener as the 'Jewish Central Information Office' in 1939. Contains searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials. Part of Archives Unbound.

Brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.

A collection of primary source materials drawn from more than 300 repositories. Includes conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of international women activists dating as far back as the middle nineteenth century.

Pamphlets were an important means of public debate in the 19th century, covering key political, social, technological, and environmental issues. This collection of significant British 19th-century pamphlets held in seven UK research libraries includes the Knowsley Pamphlet Collection; the Cowen Tracts (personal collection of Joseph Cowen, Member of Parliament and social reformer); the Hume Tracts (personal collection of Joseph Hume, Radical Member of Parliament); and Earl Grey Pamphlets.; the Cowen Tracts (personal collection of Joseph Cowen, Member of Parliament and social reformer); the Hume Tracts (personal collection of Joseph Hume, Radical Member of Parliament); and Earl Grey Pamphlets. To browse the pamphlets, click on "Browse by Title," then click the "Pamphlets" tab. Click on the hyperlinked alphabet letters to see pamphlet collections beginning with that letter.

This database contains 1.2 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor.