LibGuides: GU-Q HIST-1601: Middle East Civilization I: Databases

Subject Databases

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Provides an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.
Christian-Muslim Relations. A Bibliographical History This link opens in a new window
"General online history of relations between the faiths from the seventh century to the present...Covers the period from 600 to 1500... & are recorded in Syriac, Arabic, Greek, Latin, [etc.] & other languages...[Includes] introductory essays on the treatment of Christians in the Qur'an, Qur'an commentaries, biographies of the Prophet, Hadith and Sunni law, & of Muslims in canon law..." See opening page for further details of coverage.
Al Manhal e-Library This link opens in a new window
Provides online, full-text access to an extensive collection of recently published books, journals and dissertations in Arabic & English from the Arab world. This includes peer-reviewed and copyright protected publications on Business & Economics, History, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Language & Literature and Social Sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography of scholarship in Islamic studies and related topics. From Oxford University Press.

Aditional Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI2) This link opens in a new window The major scholarly encyclopedia in Islamic & Middle Eastern studies. This is a multi-volume work containing signed articles on all aspects of the Islamic world: religious, biographical, historical, and social.
Short bibliographies of classical works accompany signed articles. Many articles in the new editions (EI2 & EI3) have been revised and updated. The second edition is now complete. See Transliteration table for Brill OnlineTransliteration table for Brill Online to see how words in Arabic & other non-roman script languages are romanized.

The first edition, now published as E.J. Brill's First Encyclopaedia of Islam, 1913-1936, is also useful. Sister titles: Encyclopaedia of Islam Three (EI3), Encyclopaedia Islamica (in progress), Encyclopedia of the Qur'an.

All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "Related Publications" on the search page.
Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE (EI3) This link opens in a new window Newest edition of Ency. of Islam (still in progress). Edited by Gudrun Kramer, et al. "with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship... The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world."
All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "Related Publications" on the search page.
See Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how words in Arabic & other non-roman script languages are romanized.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window Contains more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide visual perspectives on Islam.

Full list of library databases

Library A-Z Database List